My Talking AngelaEnjoy a pet cat without ever changing a litter box! | Terrence Howard | Chicago Med Season 4 Episode 2(When to Let Go (2))
  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 30, 2018
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Kelly Lawler
    Sep 28, 2018
    75
    A sweet, surprisingly watchable series that essentially gives "Joan of Arcadia" a Silicon Valley tuneup.
  2. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Oct 1, 2018
    70
    Hall is charismatic and likable enough to ground the show’s fantastical premise in something semi-real, or at least real enough to make the series palatable. God Friended Me also has a sense of humor and a sense of plot-driven momentum.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 28, 2018
    70
    God has historically been good to CBS, in the form of faith-oriented series like "Touched by an Angel" and "Joan of Arcadia." The network returns to those roots with God Friended Me, an appealing show that weaves religion into its premise, while owing at least as much to the since-departed "Person of Interest" as those aforementioned dramas.
  4. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Kristen Baldwin
    Sep 24, 2018
    67
    It's all a bit predictable, but Hall is a charming lead, and the we're-not-alone-in-the-universe premise is pleasantly palatable. [28 Sep 2018, p.50]
  5. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 28, 2018
    63
    Setting aside a glib and emotionally manipulative launch, of all the "This Is Us" wannabes ("Manifest," "A Million Little Things," "New Amsterdam") in the 2018 fall lineup, "God Friended Me" may stand the best chance of success.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 8 out of 21
  1. Sep 8, 2018
    0
    The very premise of this show is a crime against humanity. Of all the ways the Creator of all things could communicate, he or she chooses facebook?
  2. Sep 2, 2018
    1
    Horrible acting and an already been done premise (see the far superior Joan of Arcadia, also from CBS) make this show, the pilot episodeHorrible acting and an already been done premise (see the far superior Joan of Arcadia, also from CBS) make this show, the pilot episode anyway, a chore to watch. Divine intervention is about the only thing that'll keep God Friended Me on the air. Skip it! Amen. Full Review »
  3. Sep 9, 2018
    0
    An unabashed cash grab targeting the lowest common denominator intelligence demographic. This experiment is going to end badly for CBS. IAn unabashed cash grab targeting the lowest common denominator intelligence demographic. This experiment is going to end badly for CBS. I would like to know the story about how something like this got on the air. I'm sure it would make for a far more interesting story than what is presented by this show. Full Review »