Ezequiel De Almeida | Dunkirk DUBLADO E LEGENDADO ONLINE | Asphalt 9: Legends - 2018’s New Arcade Racing Game APK
  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 14, 2018
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 26
  2. Negative: 7 out of 26

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 11, 2018
    38
    Camping does have a good, energetic cast but they too never quite find their groove as fish-out-of-water in this would-be fish-out-of-water farce. Like Dunham and Konner, they all seem like they'd rather be someplace else--anyplace else would do.
  2. Reviewed by: Gwen Ihnat
    Oct 12, 2018
    33
    It’s a waste of a fine cast and a bucolic setting. One possible upside for the series is that Camping might inspire people to go camping themselves, just to get away from TV for awhile.
  3. Reviewed by: Melanie McFarland
    Oct 15, 2018
    30
    Garner’s character receives the most significant development of the bunch, and even she’s two-dimensional at best.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Oct 10, 2018
    30
    Insanely controlling, petty, and pouty Kathryn, played by the poorly cast Jennifer Garner. She’s the kind of Instagram-obsessed, self-centered helicopter mom you’d want to cut off in the after-school pickup-dropoff line of cars. There’s nothing entertaining about her. ... The guests form a loose group riddled with dissent, although somewhat unified in their dislike of Kathryn. It’s like “The Big Chill” gone sour.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 9, 2018
    30
    The casting comes off like it was just Dunham and Konner picking friends to fill out roles, which results in an across-the-board lack of chemistry (or much interest) as the story unfolds. And while Camping is indeed supposed to be a story of misery (because none of these people seem like campers, which is probably the central joke of the original series), making Walt's birthday weekend a torturous affair doesn't work if the humor that it's supposed to generate doesn't materialize. Watching becomes as big a slog for the viewer as getting through that ill-advised camping trip is for the characters.
  6. Reviewed by: Dave Nemetz
    Oct 1, 2018
    25
    It does not improve, and just keeps hammering the same tired joke over and over again. It’s a colossal waste of everyone’s time and talent. Cringe humor without the humor is just cringing.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrea Reiher
    Oct 11, 2018
    20
    What is the point of this show? If it’s not laughs or personal growth, is it just a slice-of-life comedy about unlikable people? That’s not enough, especially in this overcrowded TV landscape. ... Despite high hopes for this combination of Dunham’s writing talent and Garner’s charisma, there just isn’t enough over the first four episodes to really make this a comedy worth tuning into. You can skip this Camping trip.
User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 5 out of 7
  1. Oct 14, 2018
    8
    A US remake of a British series (that I didn't watch so I can't compare). Great cast, and good script but it got a 8 from me as I thinkA US remake of a British series (that I didn't watch so I can't compare). Great cast, and good script but it got a 8 from me as I think Jennifer Garner (so good in dramas) overacts a bit too much.

    David Tennant and Juliette Lewis always perfect and a pleasure to watch
    Full Review »