Opera Turbo | Jordan Hinson | Daniel Pooley
Universal Pictures | Release Date: September 21, 2018
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 45 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
21
Mixed:
17
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Davrosdaleks1Sep 21, 2018
I'll be honest, I was a little worried about this considering that: a) This is the first children's film from torture porn horror director Eli Roth not to mention the first time he's helmed a film with an attempted big visual flair. b) TheI'll be honest, I was a little worried about this considering that: a) This is the first children's film from torture porn horror director Eli Roth not to mention the first time he's helmed a film with an attempted big visual flair. b) The film is more humorous than the book. I was afraid it might be too hard to be Goosebumps. Luckily, both my fears were abated.

Jack Black and Cate Blanchett have excellent chemistry together. They're both quite humorous, but they also nail the characters' more serious moments. It's weird that a trifecta of children's/family films has produced some of Jack Black's best roles. Although, you feel a bit more of the Jack Black personality here than in his other two roles, he does manifest the character of Uncle Jonathan, the fun uncle who also has a secret undertaken. Overall, all the characters are really well-fleshed out here.

Visually the film looks great from the 50s' setting to the entire look of the lavish house from the title, especially the scary visuals. Really, they rank with the likes of Tim Burton or Krampus. The film knows when to have fun, but it knows when to bring on the scares. As a child I preferred the original book and the other works of John Bellairs over Goosebumps, because the horror was played more directly and seriously, and this movie understands that. Cautious parents be aware that this is as scary as a PG movie can get. Well, maybe not as much as The Witches, but what is. This is definitely Coraline level.

The only downside is that at a running time of one hour and forty-four minutes, the second act, which is heavy on the character bits, drags a bit. Most of the action doesn't happen till the third act.

Roth surpassed my expectations here, and I hope he gets a chance at adapting the second book in the series.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
Megajohn85Sep 21, 2018
Mix Crimson Peak with Goosebumps and throw in a dash of Harry Potter and you get a film that’s surprisingly fun for all ages
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
manningn15Sep 25, 2018
The casts performances were stupendous especially Jack Black, Cate Blanchett, and Owen Vaccaro. The banter between Jack Black and Cate Blanchett's characters was hilarious. The visual effects and set designs were spectacular. The story andThe casts performances were stupendous especially Jack Black, Cate Blanchett, and Owen Vaccaro. The banter between Jack Black and Cate Blanchett's characters was hilarious. The visual effects and set designs were spectacular. The story and screenplay were fantastic. I also thought the film score was well done. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
NolanLundgaardSep 23, 2018
“House” was a pretty good movie. The beginning and climax of the story were SO good (10/10 worthy), I just wish I could say the same about the ending. This part of the story relied too much on CGI. While I don’t mind a little bit of it used“House” was a pretty good movie. The beginning and climax of the story were SO good (10/10 worthy), I just wish I could say the same about the ending. This part of the story relied too much on CGI. While I don’t mind a little bit of it used now and then, I felt a little hit over the head with it. I also would have appreciated less “bush-lion” poop jokes about using the litter box instead of blasting people with leaves (poop?). Besides that, I had a great experience with House, and I would recommend it to people who enjoyed the Harry Potter films, Doctor Strange, and the Goosebumps movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
alianorareeOct 2, 2018
A marvelous bit of dark fantasy. Please note: in addition to being enchanting, this movie is legitimately spooky and darkly atmospheric, so I'm not sure I'd recommend it for younger children.
Having read the books I was confused when I saw
A marvelous bit of dark fantasy. Please note: in addition to being enchanting, this movie is legitimately spooky and darkly atmospheric, so I'm not sure I'd recommend it for younger children.
Having read the books I was confused when I saw the movie listed as a comedy, but it worked quite well overall. During a couple of the comedic moments Black veered a bit too far toward melodrama, but otherwise his Jonathon was delightful. The rest of the cast was also good, but Lorenza Izzo (Lewis' mother) was absolutely perfect. I really hope they make more movies based on books from this series.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RhoSantoroSep 29, 2018
I put 7, but I think that maybe is a 6.5

The story of the movie is good as based on a book, but is good to kids. If you are teenager or adult, this movie have a chance to not impress you, but who knows? I have a aunt who loves any type of
I put 7, but I think that maybe is a 6.5

The story of the movie is good as based on a book, but is good to kids. If you are teenager or adult, this movie have a chance to not impress you, but who knows? I have a aunt who loves any type of magic movie so... I can't say that is a good adaptation of the book of the movie as I never read, so I owe you this. The plot-twist (let's call that) is interesting, but as the movie is not all this, just make you pay more attention to the screen and that's it. I don't know, but the world they showed makes me think that would be great on a cartoon show. Again, who knows, right?

The characters are good, especially Jack Black and Cate Blanchett's characters. This two makes the movie better with their charism and good acting (yeah, I like Jack Black acting skills). The boy, who is protagonist, isn't a very interesting character, but that don't annoy me. The villains are... ok. They aren't scary, evil (they are evil, but not that kind of evil we expect) or interesting in any ways.

As I say in my resume, "The House with a Clock in Its Walls" is a good-to-okay movie. Your children will like, you maybe not so. Jack Black and Cate Blanchett are a good duo and I would like to see them together again. The boy have potential, but the movie not explored. As I say on every review that I make, go to the movies and watch by yourself to make your vision of this film. Don't depend of others words to you say what is good and what isn't. I don't care about someone finds my review useful or not, I'm just writing what I think about it.

My motto continues: Go to the movies, and draw your own conclusion
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DufreshestOct 7, 2018
Cinematography: 9.439/10 The trailer does not do The House with a Clock in Its Walls justice. The film flows a lot better in viewing and is not as corny as the trailer makes it seem (at least to me). 

Costume Design: 8.974/10 I like the
Cinematography: 9.439/10 The trailer does not do The House with a Clock in Its Walls justice. The film flows a lot better in viewing and is not as corny as the trailer makes it seem (at least to me). 

Costume Design: 8.974/10 I like the tie-ins with the wardrobes to a theme on being one's self throughout the film. 

Film Editing: 9.543/10 Solid. Each scene is enough. 

Make-up and Hair-styling: 8/10 Decent.

Sound Editing: 8.782/10 I wanted to hear the clock more. 

Visual Effects: 8.732/10 Decent. I wanted to see more magic.

Story: 8.792/10 The story is the first surprise for me. I find myself enjoying The House with a Clock in Its Walls more as the film progresses. It's a fun simple film that gets its points across with just enough. There are some torturous (yes, torturous - I've seen people walk out of theaters or fall asleep torturous -  films in general, but in this case - ) family films: this is not one of them.

Acting: 9.213/10 The acting is the second surprise for me. (I don't actively seek trailers, they show before the film I'm viewing, so sometimes it becomes a bit of a comparative-referential point). Plus, my interest in seeing Mid90s has grown even more watching Sunny Suljic and Owen Vaccarro acting together (that whole motley crew of kids is nice to see in The House with a Clock in Its Walls though).

Personal: I'm glad about the film's turnout. Bullying is really terrible. Playing is fun. It's good to be weird in good ways. The actual process of growing is fun especially with everything in order (cause not too many kids have to pay bills, it's sad about the ones that have to and had to at far too young an age - but, no one is ever too young to begin doing what they are good at - enjoy -  and making money). A kid from a well off family once told me he felt like he was losing his imagination. I told him he has to continue working on his imagination to build it - stimulate it. I do know circumstances may affect individuals in varying ways. I think The House with a Clock in Its Walls does a great job of showing the importance of belief and imagination as well as the processes occurring from experiencing a loss - of grieving and recovering. Good creativity and the imagination are so important to life.

Overall: 8.934/10

-K.D.

If you're into Poetry and other bits of creativity, check out my Instagram: @Dufreshest.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WonderZOct 9, 2018
Great family friendly dose of magic and monsters, funny & fun overall a good watch and very much enjoyable to anyone that doesn't take it to seriously. I'd recommend to watch it with boxxy software.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews