IPTV Pro v4.1.3 Patched Paid Cracked Apk [Latest] | Peppermint 2018 TS | Monster Rancher
Lionsgate | Release Date: September 14, 2018
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 90 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
61
Mixed:
22
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
GnillepsSep 15, 2018
It's like someone said "Allison (from Orphan Black) needs her own movie..." and what we got was Anna Kendrick and Blake Lively killing it.

Everyone has chemistry and the movie is Laugh Out Loud funny from beginning to end. I could hear all
It's like someone said "Allison (from Orphan Black) needs her own movie..." and what we got was Anna Kendrick and Blake Lively killing it.

Everyone has chemistry and the movie is Laugh Out Loud funny from beginning to end. I could hear all the surprised people leaving the theater like 'THAT was a good show'

It's not super deep, it's a light hearted noir with a touch of Hitchcock suspense.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
AsherHellSep 14, 2018
I really enjoyed every minute of this movie. Well acted, the story is good and it all fit together very nicely. Do yourself a favor and watch this movie before it get's spoiled for you...
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
ProteusSep 14, 2018
Comedy folks. And it all works thanks to the superb 2 female leads. The fashion is simply outstanding. If you like seeing stunning fresh lovely dresses on clever movie stars giving unique comedic performances....and you absolutely SHOULDComedy folks. And it all works thanks to the superb 2 female leads. The fashion is simply outstanding. If you like seeing stunning fresh lovely dresses on clever movie stars giving unique comedic performances....and you absolutely SHOULD like those things...then see this movie. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
GinaKSep 18, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed this film. It is fast-paced, witty, and full of surprises. The cast was excellent, especially Anna Kendrick and Blake Lively, both of whom were fun to watch and totally believable in this twisty comedy. Henry GoldingI thoroughly enjoyed this film. It is fast-paced, witty, and full of surprises. The cast was excellent, especially Anna Kendrick and Blake Lively, both of whom were fun to watch and totally believable in this twisty comedy. Henry Golding gives another elegant comic performance, just as he did in Crazy Rich Asians. A great summer “escape” film to make you forget the awful heat and humidity outside. I look forward to seeing these three accomplished comic actors in another film soon. Or seeing them in this film again on DVD. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticSep 22, 2018
A unique film that kept me interested from start to finish. Both Kendrick and Lively give great performances especially Blake Lively who's comedic ability shines through here. Big credit to Director Paul Feig as well who is able to mix genreA unique film that kept me interested from start to finish. Both Kendrick and Lively give great performances especially Blake Lively who's comedic ability shines through here. Big credit to Director Paul Feig as well who is able to mix genre and tones quite nicely here which isn't that easy. Overall this was a good time and a high 7 a B+. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
moviecritic68Sep 26, 2018
Bravo for such an original screenplay which elevated my grade but at the same time I thought there were too many spit balls thrown at the wall to try to fill in space.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
preciouskikiSep 25, 2018
Fun movie! Stylishly done; amusing; gorgeous to look at with great-looking clothes, houses and humans; and with more tart twists than a barful of perfectly chilled Martinis, "A Simple Favor" is a very entertaining popcorn thriller. GoodFun movie! Stylishly done; amusing; gorgeous to look at with great-looking clothes, houses and humans; and with more tart twists than a barful of perfectly chilled Martinis, "A Simple Favor" is a very entertaining popcorn thriller. Good soundtrack, too. One tiny critique: For me, towards the end, some of the twists came so quickly that my feeble little brain was spinning. I wished they had spent a little more time on them... Cuz I was a little like "Wait, what?!?" The switcheroos were zooming by like Vroom--Vroom--Vroom! And OK, I will admit: I got home and Googled the synopsis to make sure I hadn't missed anything. Vanity Fair had an article called "About that ending...," so I don't feel too bad about feeling a little fuzzy-headed. Perhaps the book was a little more elucidating, I dunno. But I loved it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GreatMartinSep 25, 2018
Do you like a comedy/mystery or a mystery/comedy? How about a fashion show with Blake Lively wearing more sharp 3 piece suits than any man has ever worn in one movie? Why not a modern home that just yells “MONEY”? Anything against a cute boyDo you like a comedy/mystery or a mystery/comedy? How about a fashion show with Blake Lively wearing more sharp 3 piece suits than any man has ever worn in one movie? Why not a modern home that just yells “MONEY”? Anything against a cute boy using the F word and getting laughs? How about a ‘better than you will ever be’ fashion designer? How about all these in one movie?

In “A Simple Favor” over volunteering single mother Stephanie (Anna Kendrick) is thrilled to be befriended by successful, busy Emily Nelson (Blake Lively) and is more than willing to pick up her son after school which soon becomes a habit. It doesn’t take long for one day Emily does not show up to pick up her son and, after 4 days, Stephanie not only becomes a mother to Emily’s son and become concerned about Emily’s husband Sean (Henry Golding) but also decides to search for her friend.

“A Simple Favor” is not only about a murder, husbands, wives, friends, kids but also having fun watching a movie, being confused by what is happening, not being sure what happened and leaving the theatre with a smile on your face, not caring that you really didn’t understand all that went on and fifteen minutes later forgetting all about it.

Anna Kendrick, as Stephanie, who does a home vlog every day, has that goofy act down to the point that gets every laugh, even those not written in the script by Jessica Sharzer. Blake Lively as Emily has different looks in the movie aided by costume designer that keeps your eye on her and makes her believable whatever persona she chooses. Henry Golding, in this his second movie, shows he was no fluke in “Crazy Rich Asians” and looks better in jeans than any man has a right to!

Joshua Satine as Stephanie’s son and Ian Ho as Emily’s kid with the potty mouth are fun while Andrew Rannells as one of the parents at school aids and abets Anna Kendrick in the comedy department while Bashir Salahuddin as a detective, Rupert Friend, as that snobby fashion designer and Jean Smart in her second blink and you’ll miss her appearance all make this a comedy/mystery and mystery/comedy movie.

I recommend “A Simple Favor” if you want to have a laugh with Kendrick, watch Golding’s career rise, maybe have a martini served in a frozen glass and a lemon twist added with Lively or just a movie that asks you do nothing more than sit back, laugh and, maybe, figure out the twists and turns of a murder.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Sep 25, 2018
Tonal inconsistencies and glaring "Gone Girl" parallels aside, I had a good amount of fun with "A Simple Favor," a comedic thriller from frequent Melissa McCarthy collaborator Paul Feig. Was this the correct project for him to direct? I'mTonal inconsistencies and glaring "Gone Girl" parallels aside, I had a good amount of fun with "A Simple Favor," a comedic thriller from frequent Melissa McCarthy collaborator Paul Feig. Was this the correct project for him to direct? I'm still not so sure, as there are -- as previously mentioned -- a number of elements here that just simply don't work together for me. This is much more of a thriller than a comedy, as the comedic stylings seem almost randomly placed into certain scenes to offset a lot of the dramatic intrigue. And it just doesn't gel together. This should have been a straight-laced thriller. But, even if that were the case, you'd end up running into a bigger version of the other problem with this movie -- this is supremely similar to "Gone Girl." There's even a scene in here that's borderline lifted from that film. Again, this isn't perfect, but it is fun, featuring terrific chemistry between Anna Kendrick and Blake Lively, and a real neat final act. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970Oct 6, 2018
Thriller that involves a mixtures of genres, in way witty. Could been better if not for the overused trick of the evil twin sisters. The final act make you wonder of what genre belongs actually, or shall to watch again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Sep 16, 2018
I wasn't initially going to see this. I'd been let down by similar neonoir mystery dramas before. (Felt Gone Girl was just okay and Girl on a Train was disappointing.) Then I heard the positive reviews and changed my mind. I'm glad I did.I wasn't initially going to see this. I'd been let down by similar neonoir mystery dramas before. (Felt Gone Girl was just okay and Girl on a Train was disappointing.) Then I heard the positive reviews and changed my mind. I'm glad I did.

Director Paul Feig took the story from what appears to be a more serious book with very mixed reviews on Amazon.com and added humor and a bit of fun to the proceedings. The dark parts are appropriately lurid, but this isn't a dire slog. Witty dialogue and a game cast alleviate the proceedings.

Although Blake Lively does a great job as the mysterious woman who goes missing (and hats off to whoever designed her clothes, they are fantastic), this is Anna Kendricks' film. As the slightly oddball, mommy vlogger Stephanie Smothers, Kendricks has the part nailed down a both physically and verbally as she quirkily deals with people.

There are a couple flaws. The switch between drama and humor is a little jarring a in a few spots. The second act drags a little, and a few character decisions in the third act were rushed a bit.

Overall, I'd recommend this.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tonyyanSep 22, 2018
I seriously enjoyed this dark-twisted-comedic thriller. It gives me a strange mixed feeling like Martini and I loved it! Anna and Blake kill their scenes. ****
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BradleyJordanOct 10, 2018
OMG, I was so expecting an high sixty or low seventy movie, I loved it. The writing, the acting, was great. The way the two main women characters played against each other was brilliant. The movie was much funnier than I expected and a lotOMG, I was so expecting an high sixty or low seventy movie, I loved it. The writing, the acting, was great. The way the two main women characters played against each other was brilliant. The movie was much funnier than I expected and a lot less of a thriller. I walked out of the movie with my friend who dragged me out to see it, and we were both amazed about how we both underestimated the movie, both really enjoyed it. I hope people give this movie a chance, and then give this movie the reviews it deserves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DufreshestSep 20, 2018
A Simple Favor has funny punches which the acting partners deliver well. The cinematography is fine. In "Style and Medium in the Motion Pictures" Erwin Panofsky poses, "…that the screenplay, in contrast to the theater play, has no aestheticA Simple Favor has funny punches which the acting partners deliver well. The cinematography is fine. In "Style and Medium in the Motion Pictures" Erwin Panofsky poses, "…that the screenplay, in contrast to the theater play, has no aesthetic existence independent of its performance, and that its characters have no aesthetic existence outside the actors," which I think is an interesting and valid point that I will make sure to more consciously consider with every viewing of a film.
 
Do I completely ignore the female body throughout the film? No, I'm not going to. There are a lot of pretty, beautiful, and gorgeous women in the world, for a variety of their reasons. Yet, attraction needs assistance. I'm a single male. The song "Man in Me" by The Persuasions comes to mind whenever I think of Blake Lively playing her role in the film, not because she is doing that for me, but because it'll be amazing to attribute that song to a woman that does (in accompaniment with "Do It Again" by The Staple Singers) affect me in such a way (not in the conniving-illegal-murderous sense). 

A Simple Favor touches on very sensitive topics such as alcoholism, drug abuse, depression, debt, fraud, incest, illegitimate children, and childhood in a touch-and-go comical-drama-full whirlwind. The story is decent though seems to scatter about in a way that still makes sense (because it's like a walk through of a to be mystery with surprises as no surprises bent on surprises…yeah). A Simple Favor is an awkward film that really has a way of crushing vices.

I think the film uses hysteria to flirt with its audience members. The film gets messy (which makes sense in accordance with context), and I think another title may be more suitable. Nonetheless, A Simple Favor is entertaining.

Overall Grade: C+/B-

 - K.D.

If you're into Poetry and other bits of creativity, check out my Instagram: @Dufreshest.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
WonderZOct 9, 2018
This movie felt like a crime thriller mixed with a cartoonish vibe and I am here for it. Paired with a great soundtrack, A Simple Favor guarantees a deliciously entertaining night. Highly recommend watching it with boxxy software.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Bertaut1Oct 1, 2018
Examining the rotten core beneath the surface urbanity of suburbia is something that has attracted filmmakers as diverse as Alfred Hitchcock, David Lynch, Joe Dante, Gus Van Sant, and Frank Oz. More recently, novels such as Gillian Flynn'sExamining the rotten core beneath the surface urbanity of suburbia is something that has attracted filmmakers as diverse as Alfred Hitchcock, David Lynch, Joe Dante, Gus Van Sant, and Frank Oz. More recently, novels such as Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl, have expanded and popularised the suburban noir; the very genre that A Simple Favour's satirical excesses primarily target. However, the film has an undeniable identity crisis due to its genre mash-up characteristics (it's a comic/satirical suburban noir murder mystery thriller). Although director Paul Feig proves adept at handling the parodic side of things, in the latter stages, he tries to ensure the film can exist (relatively) un-ironically within the very genre it's attempting to lampoon. Despite this schizophrenic quality, however, the interplay between the two leads, the heavy stylisation, the playfully self-aware nature of the aesthetic, and the success of the burlesque elements all serve to make the film undeniably entertaining.

A Simple Favour is at its best when working as a parody/satire of suburban-based "mommy murder mysteries". For example, the three main characters are all standard generic templates to the point of cliché; the ingénue who feels honour-bound to do everything she can to find the truth, no matter the cost, ultimately learning as much about herself as anything else; the sardonic, caustic, and utterly shady plot catalyst, who always seems to have an ace up her sleeve and always seems to know more than anyone else; and, the brilliant but frustrated spouse who may, or may not, be in on the crime at the narrative's centre. However, their archetypal characteristics are dialled up to such a degree, that they can't help but seem caricatures.

Opening with a late 1960s Europop-influenced Saul Bass-esque title sequence complete with sliding split-screens and pastel colours, scored to Jean Paul Keller's 1967 "Ca s'est arrange", the film signals its playful tone right from the off. This stylisation is perhaps seen most clearly upon Emily's introduction. As Stephanie shelters from the rain, Emily emerges from a car in slow motion, with the camera starting on her feet before slowly moving up to her head as she raises an umbrella. Cutting to a mid-shot, she then begins to walk across the carpark (still in slow motion), as a broken umbrella blows past her, replacing the tumbleweed of a classic western shootout. The visual design of the scene is predicated on cine-literacy, showing that the filmmakers know how to employ standard genre tropes for comedic effect.

Another element of this awareness is the use of a fractured narrative structure and unreliable narrators, so beloved of classic noir mysteries. The film gets significant mileage out of scenes where the aural narration doesn't even come close to matching the visuals. An especially funny example of this is when Stephanie tells Emily about kissing her step-brother after their father's funeral, and Emily immediately knows she is lying that she only kissed him. Whilst the narrator (Stephanie) flat-out denies she slept with him, the audience sees them having sex, confirming the narratee's (Emily) suspicions.

If there was one element that didn't work, however, it was the mystery plot. Yes, I get that it's all a satire of the multi-twist-for-twist's-sake suburban murder mystery, however, the satirical underpinning doesn't change the fact that the entire mystery at the film's centre is insipid, uninteresting, and predictable, whilst Feig seems unable to bridge the tone of the frothier comic moments and the darker ones. Feig tries to mix scenes of outright comedy with predominantly serious scenes devoid of laughter, and it doesn't work. For example, the film features a scene in which someone who has just been ploughed by a car and is trying to crawl away is nonchalantly told if they don't stop, they're going to hurt their knees. That's pretty dark, but it's also pretty funny. However, it comes only a short while after a scene in which a drug-addict is held under the water and drowned. If scenes of this nature are supposed to be satiric, and hence feed into the film's engagement with the suburban noir, I couldn't see any evidence of it.

For all that, however, I found A Simple Favour enjoyable. The purely-satirical early scenes earn enough goodwill so that the less successful more plot-heavy later scenes don't completely tear the whole thing down. The film as a whole shines a not unwelcome light on the increasingly self-important suburban noir, and for the most part, the parody is very well judged. When the comedy is forced to retreat in the service of more serious material, the tonal balance is definitely knocked off, as the film comes dangerously close to valorising that which it has set out to mock. Despite this, however, it remains entertaining - it won't change your life, but it's a very rewarding couple of hours.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GrachechkovskiSep 27, 2018
I can't remember movie like it where it has a relevant humor and jokes with a wonderful narrative and thriller's side. It was a interesting film with the ambiguous ending that seems as real story
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JackusBlackusSep 28, 2018
I found the movie to be very enjoyable, though it has rough patches with stilted dialog and some difficult-to-swallow moments.

Otherwise, Anna Kendrick is quirky and Blake Lively is hot, and that's about all that can be said about the movie
I found the movie to be very enjoyable, though it has rough patches with stilted dialog and some difficult-to-swallow moments.

Otherwise, Anna Kendrick is quirky and Blake Lively is hot, and that's about all that can be said about the movie without spoiling it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MarceloPazOct 5, 2018
I miss the films like that, they did a great script. The cast was ok but overall a good movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews