Download XAPK | Christopher Meloni | Kamigami no Asobi
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
Buy On
  1. Nov 2, 2018
    80
    GRIP: Combat Racing is a must-buy for anyone craving non-stop racing action, going far beyond just being a modern-day version of Rollcage while offering a wide variety of gameplay options.
  2. Nov 2, 2018
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Nov 2, 2018
    78
    A very adrenalinic and intense arcade racer, with a great visual/artistic design, lots of contents and very creative tracks. It's a bit too easy getting lost in its complex tracks tho, with too few visual indicators. It's however a suggested buy for every lover of the genre and nostalgic players of Rollcage.
  4. Nov 13, 2018
    75
    GRIP isn’t a bad racer by any means, but it could have been a lot more than what it is had the developer spent more time refining track consistency. Furthermore, the campaign itself feels nonsensical by design, and there’s certainly some population needed for its online component. Nevertheless, and despite those faults, GRIP is one of the most fun, intense and unique combat racers in recent memory.
  5. Nov 2, 2018
    70
    A fun racing game despite its control problems and some minor graphical hiccups.
  6. 70
    GRIP is an enjoyable racing game that is constantly hampered by bare-bones presentation. The core driving is a lot of fun, but when races and battles aren’t presented in a fun manner then it relies on the gameplay to be constantly engaging. The gravity mechanics are certainly cool to see, but they aren’t exactly innovative or game changing enough to overcome the shortcomings after the initial allure wears off.
  7. Nov 2, 2018
    60
    Ultimately, GRIP has fun gameplay at its foundation, I'm just not sure this first attempt takes the game everywhere it needs to go.
  8. Nov 2, 2018
    60
    There are still several issues that need to be ironed out but GRIP: Combat Racing isn’t a terrible game. In fact, with a few necessary fixes, it could definitely become something rather special thanks to filling the gap left in the genre and providing something a bit different to most other racers. At present though, it’s going to take a bit more variety and polish for this to be a racer we’ll be remembering fondly.
  9. Nov 2, 2018
    60
    The issues with the track layout and the so-so presentation mean that this game won’t Grip you for long. It’s great for a Sunday drive, but it’s not going to hold your attention forever.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Nov 6, 2018
    8
    The presentation side of the game was something that I really enjoyed and that’s mainly because both the visuals and sound design make theThe presentation side of the game was something that I really enjoyed and that’s mainly because both the visuals and sound design make the game stand out. I found the gameplay to be extremely fun because racing at high speeds and doing multiple flips always felt rewarding and exhilarating. There’s a decent selection of tracks for you to race on and the variety that’s present in them means things stay fresh and interesting for longer. The inclusion of a four-player split screen is fantastic because it’s very rare nowadays and it does make the game more fun and also give it replayability. I was slightly disappointed with the campaign mode in the game because it’s very basic and nothing much stands out. In terms of content the game doesn’t have a huge amount for you to get to grips with and in my opinion this makes the price of the game too high. Racing is fun for the most part I found the handling to be not as smooth and fluid as I would’ve liked it to be. Back in the day I can remember playing a fantastic little game called Rollcage and it was fantastic because it was unlike any other game I’d played before. Unfortunately there hasn’t really been many game’s since then that have captured that same formula, well that is until now. GRIP: Combat Racing may have a few shortcomings but it offers you an experience that’s very unique compared to most racing game’s out there. It also offers you a fun and at times very exhilarating experience as well and performing various flips always feels rewarding. You can also perform these flips in four-player split screen as well and whilst the handling was a little bit stiff at times it still remained fun when playing this way. Most of the problems the game has are small but for me the game has a big underlying issue and that is that it just doesn’t have enough content to warrant its high asking price. Despite this though GRIP: Combat Racing still does enough to get a solid recommendation from me because even though it’s in a crowded genre it stands out because it is unique in a number of areas and when in full flow your guaranteed to have a lot of fun with the game. Full Review »