Intimate Note | Musica Torrents | The Hotwives of Orlando
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 13, 2018
    85
    Steel Rats is an awesome 2.5D platformer that makes great use of motorcycle based combat. The team of four bikers are badass and unique, prompting you to try them all out, and being able to switch between them on the fly keeps gameplay fresh.
  2. Nov 15, 2018
    80
    It's not perfect - a clumsy button lay-out and some weird physics definitely hold the game back at times - but Steel Rats still manages to combine different genres in a surprising and consistently fun way.
  3. Nov 8, 2018
    80
    Steel Rats is a title that we want to promote, thanks to a successful hybridization of playing styles that are not too simple to match and an immediate, amusing and at the same time varied and satisfying play structure. The smudging of the title is mainly linked to an excessively minimal narrative segment and to a sometimes ineffective sense of progression. Nonetheless, these are rather marginal aspects in the calculation of such an immediate, frenetic and enjoyable experience.
  4. Nov 7, 2018
    80
    If you wish Trials games had more killer robots and allowed you to move in a third dimension then Steel Rats is definitely worth playing.
  5. 75
    A highly enjoyable and polished if relatively unambitious bike-fueled action romp, fans of high-octane action platforming will be served very well by Steel Rats.
  6. Nov 9, 2018
    70
    I think I would have liked the game better if the characters were on foot or the bikes were less touchy. In the end, I give Street Rats some credit for its creativity because I haven’t seen a mashup of gameplay like this before. It’s fun and has a great sense of style that works with the world it’s trying to show off.
  7. Nov 11, 2018
    60
    There is something enjoyable in Steel Rats, but there is a lot it doesn't get quite right. Against the other games of the season, Steel Rats just can’t compete, nor can it live up to the game most people will associate it with.
  8. 60
    Cool as it sounds, if you stick a circular saw on the front wheel of a motorcycle, it might slash the tire, or sever the brake line, or spark through the spokes. As good as Steel Rats is at world-building, it often fails when it lets you take control. Sometimes the answer it finds isn’t the answer it needs.
  9. Nov 11, 2018
    60
    If Steel Rats does offer an unexpected gameplay and a tough challenge, this all comes at the expense of pure fun. Seen what's available on the indie scene at the moment, you can easily find a better use for your dough.
  10. Nov 7, 2018
    55
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Nov 14, 2018
    9
    As a fan of Trials games, I really enjoy this take on motorbike physics VS combat styles. Being able to cut trough a bunch of junkbots andAs a fan of Trials games, I really enjoy this take on motorbike physics VS combat styles. Being able to cut trough a bunch of junkbots and driving upside down is a trill ! I just would like to have more variation in the choice of skins. Besides some small bugs the game is really enjoyable and challenging! Full Review »
  2. Nov 13, 2018
    6
    When you will get used to the controls, you'll enjoy it more, for once, adding more challenges to a game that uses bikes feels natural,When you will get used to the controls, you'll enjoy it more, for once, adding more challenges to a game that uses bikes feels natural, making the game in 2.5D open new doors to new challenges for both, the gamer and developer.

    Sometimes the game feels unfair, very frustrating, and quite hard, it surpasses that with the checkpoint system, but sometimes, we felt it could be better. combat feels out of place, needs some improvement, but it's already a step toward something new.

    The controls are a part of the challenge, the faster you master them, the better it gets!
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 12, 2018
    10
    This is a really nice game for a really reasonable price. Motorbikes, robots and survival struggles given in good style.