Terumi Shimazu | Ian Roberts | Nigel McGuinness
  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 2, 2018
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 2, 2018
    0
    Football Manager has radically changed my way of buying games in recent years. Worse. Because I don't trust the developers anymore.

    In FM 2019 they have improved training and tactics (just the layout, honestly) but left out many other problems accumulated over the last 5 years. Some of them really very boring. AI is still far behind (this is why I'm not convinced at all by the tactics
    Football Manager has radically changed my way of buying games in recent years. Worse. Because I don't trust the developers anymore.

    In FM 2019 they have improved training and tactics (just the layout, honestly) but left out many other problems accumulated over the last 5 years. Some of them really very boring. AI is still far behind (this is why I'm not convinced at all by the tactics change). The negotiations, the relations with the media and the players, remains all boring. For example: once again it will be useless to identify the potential star playing in an unknown league, because it will cost you more than Ronaldo.

    So, yes, it's something more than the usual database update, which we were used to, but not at this price. You will read positive reviews from those who bought it at 20-30 euros. For 20 euros I would have spoken very well of it too, for 55 not. For 55 is a refund.

    My advice is: don't buy it if you bought FM 2018. Or wait for the next sales.
    Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2018
    2
    Yearly release cycles are ludicrous for this game. I only buy a version of it once every 3 or 4 years. Frankly the game is getting too complicated for its own good, playing FM is more like having a second job now than a relaxing diversion.
  3. Nov 6, 2018
    10
    It's my first Football Manager and I love it. I see that people are mad that the devs don't do anything new to this series and I probably won't buy 2020 one. My experience is great, I really feel like football manager, it's an awesome game for people like me. And I am giving it 10/10 because I love the ideas behind it. I can't deliver you a comparison with other "football managers" but IIt's my first Football Manager and I love it. I see that people are mad that the devs don't do anything new to this series and I probably won't buy 2020 one. My experience is great, I really feel like football manager, it's an awesome game for people like me. And I am giving it 10/10 because I love the ideas behind it. I can't deliver you a comparison with other "football managers" but I see that there is no point in buying more than 1. I am going to play it from time to time for 2 years or 3. My new travel game in the train or plane, I'm happy for it. And it's a great title. But don't get me wrong, my rating tells a story of one game, and it's awesome, but eventually, it gets boring. After 12 hrs I'm tired of it and I need a break. I/m going to play some other games and return to it after a while or in a train.
    Experience is 10/10 and it might be a personal opinion from me, but that's how reviews work, right?
    Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2018
    0
    nothing new. pretty much the same game every year.
    miss the good old Cm2001
  5. Nov 11, 2018
    8
    Another year, another Football Manager brought by Sports Interactive. This series has been coming since 2005 and as such, fans should be eager to know what the small news of this new version. Signing up for a club as a coach, setting tactics and training, hiring and taking the club as far as possible in national and international competitions are things that are part of everyday life inAnother year, another Football Manager brought by Sports Interactive. This series has been coming since 2005 and as such, fans should be eager to know what the small news of this new version. Signing up for a club as a coach, setting tactics and training, hiring and taking the club as far as possible in national and international competitions are things that are part of everyday life in Football Manager.

    But let's go directly to the news features of this Football Manager 2019. Now we have more realistic and detailed training sessions. Each day has two or three training sessions that can be dedicated to game tactics, attacking or defensive moves, or more general things. In other words, whatever we understand. It may be a bit annoying at first to be altering train X on day X, but it's a very good feature.

    The tactics have also been changed ... and for the better. Movements with or without ball are back. Now we can change our tactics more deeply and there are lots of options for the player to choose and form the kind of game they want. The Tiki-taka of Barcelona, the bus of José Mourinho or the Gegenpressing of Jürgen Klopp. Yes, at the beginning it is natural that it is difficult to define a tactic with feets and head, especially for those who are new to the Football Manager series, but this is part of the menu, which makes things more rewarding. It should be noted that the 1st Division German (Bundesliga) and the 2nd Division German have for the first time the teams, equipment and licensed players.

    Football Manager 2019 also added the VAR (Video-referee), which allows us to see the marked offsides. But not everything is roses in this new version, because Football Manager and Transfers are two words that don't match. Unfortunately, it's already a common problem in the Football Manager series. It continues to make zero-sense clubs asking for more than 100 million euros for an unknown young player.

    Visually, Football Manager games have never been appealing (nor was it ever their goal), but that's because the producers have always wanted to make the Football Manager series a lightweight game. However, 3D Match Engine received improvements, especially with the physics of the ball. Negative points are the transfer market, the number of injuries a bit exaggerated and the printing conferences are something generic and repetitive. In the end, Football Manager 2019 turns out to be a good improvement over last year's version.

    Veredict: Football Manager 2019 has received some modifications for the better and is recommended for fans of the series.
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. The only representative of football manager games, comes with the best game in the series.
  2. Nov 9, 2018
    88
    Finally: A season, where Sports Interactive invested more time in revamping whole systems instead of just finetuning. The result is the best franchise entry in years. If you are a soccer fanatic urging to find out what it is like to coach a team, this is your dream come true.
  3. Nov 8, 2018
    80
    Football Manager 2019 is the most compelling and involving upgrade of the game since, for my money, the superb FM14. While some old niggles remain --press interaction still needs its proper overhaul, for instance-- its commitment to openness and accessibility has not come at the cost of its extraordinary depth. Quite the opposite. We go again.